Green Thumbs

Life is for learning … and sometimes that learning is welcomed. You know … like learning you are loved, or learning that our  families can be together forever or that Santa Claus is gonna bring you a sweet as present pile regardless of me being naughty or nice. Those are the teaching moments that make you feel good and warm inside. But lately life has been throwing me big fat unwanted learning experiences. They are the ones that you don’t see as growing experiences but you feel like there is one big weight pulling you down into the sea and you don’t see how any amount of paddling is going to let you breathe again. OK maybe a little dramatic in my wording but poetry sounds better when it’s dramatic … ok I digress …

I must admit that I am a worrier … I wish I was more of a warrior but I am guilty of being the former. I try the positive thinking technique where you think of all of the good in your life, my family, friends, home etc, and I even try looking at people who are worse off than me and are living really happy lives. I just can’t seem to get myself out of this ‘funk’ sometimes. This is when I am thankful for my hubby. One word and he is there for a cuddle and a venting session and he knows exactly what things to say … like “oh Ellen … everything is going to be fine” and “Ellen, there is no one cooler than you on the whole planet, not even Dave Grohl” ok no he doesn’t say that second one but you get the gist. Thanks hubby for helping me to stop feeling sorry for myself and help get me out of this ‘funk’ I’m in.

...love...

So we have been really loving having our own little vege patch at the moment and it gives us a whole lots of pride and joy eating the finished project. We planted carrots, brussel sprouts, spinach, butter lettuce, leeks, broccoli, snow peas, spring onion and herbs (rosemary, coriander, parsley.) I took some photos about a months ago and since then the garden has gone berserk so I will posts some more photos when I stop being slack but for now here is a few shots when it was all fairly new.

yum yum

 

And one photo to brighten up your day … it sure brightened up mine!

Sarah and Dane

Continuing on the with the cute theme … This weekend while Regan was working (and subsequently injured his back) Ella and I hung out for most of Saturday. She was so cute and kept telling me all day long that she loved me. I’m talking every 2 minutes or less she was professing her massive love for me which I promptly returned. Then she came up to me and said “I love you SOOOOO much … I just wanna eat you” I had to have a laugh because usually its the adults saying that to the kids. Motherhood is good to me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina Soininen
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 02:57:23

    You and Regan have saccomplished wonders with your vege patch – will there be enough for us all for Christmas:)?!
    Loving all of your blogs
    Mum xo

    Reply

  2. Amelia
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 13:02:29

    Sorry but NOONE is cooler than Dave Grohl! 😉
    Lovin’ your vegie patch XO

    Reply

  3. Dee
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 08:45:24

    What’s cooler than Dave Grohl?…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Give up? ………………………………………… ………………………………………NOTHING!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

