Happy Birthday Becca Boo

My sisters: Amelia, Kate, Rebecca, Erin, Kelly

These are all of my wonderful sisters. I’m so proud of them and for all of the love, strength and wisdom they have imparted to me throughout my life. On this day though I want to focus on my eldest (but still very youthful sister)Becca.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! For those of you  who have not had the pleasure of meeting her, she is the one in the middle of the photo.

As I am the youngest child in the family and she was married and had moved to Sydney when I was only 4 (aunty at 5), we didn’t have your regular siblingship (don’t know if that’s a real word but I’m still using it.) I have vague memories of running around at her wedding and looking on jealously as her firstborn Hannah became the youngest in the family and subsequently took over being the first person to open christmas presents. I also remember long road trips to visit her where I felt more like her child than a sister.

This past year has allowed me to have a wonderful and close relationship with her thanks to her continuing generosity. As I explained in previous posts, she offered for me to come and live with them in Sydney for as long as I wanted (or as long as my spinster self was left on the shelf.) She had extended this hospitality to several of my other siblings in the past and now it was my turn to make the trip.

From the first moment I stepped into her house I felt nothing but love (thanks for not giving me a wedgie Morgie.) I felt immediately accepted into their family and I felt so comfy taking up another little spot in their home. We would have long conversations about serious current affairs or talk about celebrity gossip. We would watch trashy Foxtel to the dismay of her hubby Morgan and watch Masterchef and (Australia’s, America’s and New Zealand’s) Next Top Model religiously. I used her a lot as my soundboard when I first started dating Regan and seeking some “been there done that” advice. One thing I always loved and appreciated came after hanging out with Regan into the late hours at his parent’s house. Every drive home was in freezing weather but I knew that when I came home that the front porch light was always on and my room was toasty warm from Becca turning on my heater hours earlier.

I have always admired her for her wit and intelligence. She is one of those people who has in-depth conversation about world events and ACTUALLY has a solid argument after having read every article on the matter. She is also incredibly loving, gives the best hugs and is such a good mum. She has impeccable taste in music and has done super cool stuff like sneaking backstage at concerts. She makes fresh bread once or twice a day and makes the most delicious Pulla (with extra icing on the side.)  She is the one who encouraged me through all of my job application failures, who laughed with me through my stupid moments and held me when I cried. 

I am so happy you are my sister and friend… I love ya Becca Boo 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarie
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 19:15:35

    Got goose bumps. Sisters are needed for survival. I get it. Love you all, SO beautiful!

    Reply

    • ausellebelle
      Sep 27, 2010 @ 01:04:12

      I know! I can’t imagine not having HUGE Christmases together with my sisters (and brother 🙂 ) now … just too weird!!

      Reply

  2. Kate Conklin
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 23:03:06

    Bec’s the best! I felt the same when I lived with her too, so completely at home!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

