not so thirsty any more

 

So I feel it is my duty to warn you all that pure hell has a new name and it is Koya Aloe Vera drink. Yes my people. I have spent the last half hour researching aloe vera drink and its effects and no where does it say “Could cause severe  pain” or “This drink may cause you to have violent and stabbing pains in you intestines as they gradually swell to breaking point.”

Oh how I was fooled. Upon shopping I darted quickly past the chocolate aisle and in a moment of strength I bought 1.5 litres of aloe vera juice. “well done Ellen” went through my head as I patted myself on the back. Now home to dinner and my tasty healthy drink. Before I knew it I had finished of a litre of the drink and this is when the fun began. The swelling grew and grew until I seriously looked no less than 11 months pregnant (so wish I took a photo now.) I lay on the couch tossing and turning with the pain as my husband looked on and laughed (ok so it was slightly funny) but in that moment of pure pain I did not see the humour.

Soon Regan retired to bed and I stayed up until 1:30am to what felt like labour pains (ok don’t shoot me all at once) and by this time I was sitting there wondering to myself “What number from 1 – 10 am I going to tell the doctor in the emergency room, that I am?” (I would have said an 8 for those of you that are Brian Regan fans.) So I decided that it was time to wake up sleeping beauty and to ask for a blessing (I’m so thankful that he could give me one.) He blessed me and that’s when the relief came. I’m not gonna spell it out but by this time I was crying and laughing with Regan constantly (in separate rooms) for the next 30 minutes as relief got better and better (the joys of marriage!)

What a lack of judgement! I just hope I don’t get burnt this summer ’cause Aloe Vera in all its forms are still scary to me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amelia
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 11:12:27

    I laughed so hard when you were telling me the story yesterday ….. it’s something you can laugh about once the pain is gone.
    Um, I’ve never had a baby before, but just a guess that some women may say that childbirth pain is more than 8/10 … maybe an 11/10!
    Glad you’re feeling better XO

    Reply

  2. Tina
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 20:19:27

    I LOVE ELLEN! I’m sorry for your pain (although I may have laughed a smidget on your account…), hope you’re all better now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

