Going to the temple and we’re gonna get married …

PHOTOS COMING TOMORROW!

On March 6th 2010 I was sealed to the love of my life for eternity. Just 9 short months earlier I was blissfully unaware, completely oblivious to the whirlwind romance that was before me. We knew from the first few days we met. He prayed to find me for weeks before we met and he prayed about me  every night since the first night we met (swoon.)

The night we met went like this. I had been in Sydney for 1 and a half weeks and I really wanted to meet some YSA down in my new stake. That night  institute was meant to be on but after calling a friend he said that institute wasn’t on, but a small group of people were playing games at the chapel. At this point I was scared of walking into a small gathering. So I sat in my pyjamas umming and ahhing until Becca said “you might just meet your future eternal companion tonight” to which we had a good old laugh. Little did I know that she was SO RIGHT!

Fast forward through belly laughs until we cried, crying until the other made you laugh, dodgy ice skating, a million “I love yous” (seriously), romantic text messages, soft kisses, dreams shared, secrets whispered, sleepy drives home, deep conversations, shallow conversations and maybe a few disagreements 🙂 .

finally the day was here, the day that I would call him mine forever and when we would make the biggest and best promise of our lives. As we sat there in the Celestial Room I felt more beautiful in this $25 dress than any other thing I had ever worn. We looked at each other with wide eyes and open hearts. We didn’t feel nervous… not a bit … it felt too normal, we felt too ready and as we held hands in that sacred room, we prayed, our last single prayer. We prayed for the spirit, we prayed with thanks in our hearts for the wonderful moment that lay before us and asked him to bless us in our marriage. Finally we made our way into the sealing room hand in hand. Walking into that room was the best moment of my life to date!! As I walked in and saw a room full of people who loved us and who we loved back I felt this overwhelming feeling of love hit me like a brick wall and tears followed.

I don’t remember much of the fine details of what was said but I do remember watching Regan as he held back tears (manly tears by the way) and me trying to jump the gun a couple of times. We were grinning as wide as our mouths would physically allows us too.

The rest of the day could not live up to this, the best experience of my life, but it came pretty close. The highlights were:

  • We had the reception at my parent’s beautiful home where there was wonderful food and music and dancing
  • An amazing cherry ripe mud cake (thanks so much Sister Howes)
  • A fun photo shoot (love ya uncle Andy)
  • The biggest thanks to Mum and Dad for pretty much organising everything and I mean EVERYTHING (flowers, food, house, decorations, etc.)
  • The Arthur family (and a couple of extras) did the Hakka for me (AMAZING.)
  • Me and my new husband took our turns serenading each other and his wasn’t planned.
  • The ring ceremony done by Brother Phipps that everyone could witness.
  • Having most of the people who have meant the most to me all there in the one room.

The only thing that could have made the day better is if I had all of the extended family there!

I love you baby and I can’t wait to grow old with you.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarie
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 04:59:30

    Love that you’re blogging again! And that list below of things you want to achieve— wow. But you can do all of them. Don’t ever tell yourself you can’t.

    Love you Elle.
    xoxo

    Reply

  2. ausellebelle
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 05:50:13

    Thanks Sarie … to tell you the truth I had lots of spare time at work and so I read your entire blog from end to beginning in a few days (can you say stalker?) haha … so you actually inspired me to start blogging again:0
    Love ya too … cant wait for you to meet my hubby xoxo

    Reply

  3. Amelia
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 11:18:49

    Great post Elle Belle. That was a pretty special day back in March …. so great to see you both soooo happy! XO

    Reply

  4. Kate Conklin
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 01:45:45

    It was a beautiful wedding, and you’re right, nothing beats getting married to the right person in the right place. Love you xx See you next week!

    Reply

    • ausellebelle
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 02:44:53

      I know! so glad I promised myself years ago it would be in the temple … When are you coming down??? did you know erry is coming over for a weekend in October? I think its the 7th to the 10th … cant wait to see you and the kiddies!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

