and then it hit me …

So I haven’t written on here in a while and so maybe a lot of you won’t read this till later … I have been searching for a job in the communication and media field for MONTHS now … in Adelaide it is a highly sought after field which I have been unable to crack into … After a couple of work experience opportunities and some deep thought of what I wanted out of my life i began wondering “am I actively creating my path? or am I just walking down a path of obligation and safety?” … sitting there in that little office by myself I realised that instead of taking stock of my life and what I wanted out of it I had simply leant on a decision I had made 3 1/2 years ago as an 18-year-old…. with my back aching and my eyes straining at the computer screen I looked up a website for the Australian Institute of Fitness ( a reputedly good learning institution) and I called the number on the screen only to be stopped dead in my tracks as my boss walked in. In the middle of my conversation with a consultant on the other end I said “so you’ll pick me up at 4:45 then? thanks Dad” … phew … I then began to think about what would make me really happy and threw away the idea of eating cookie dough and watching movies as a professional the long-term effects weren’t very rewarding and the pay, non existent 🙂 … I then rang the institute again and after much thought and deliberation I decided to become a personal trainer … random I know but this doesn’t mean that I will abandon my degree but it means adding another facet to my life, another step toward self discovery and maybe a bit of toning on the way 🙂 … so there ya go … I’m starting classes in a weeks time … cannot wait!!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jessie
    May 17, 2008 @ 00:48:15

    HIELLEN
    HAWAREYOUDOING?

    Reply

  2. Erin
    May 19, 2008 @ 06:26:09

    wow Elly – thats a big one!! Congratulations on taking a leap – I think it will be good for you – and we don’t have a personal trainer in the family yet….yeah free boot camps!!

    You could have told me before i joined a gym

    Reply

  3. Sarie
    May 20, 2008 @ 01:51:01

    I LOVE self-discovery epiphanies– they come and go, but they come a lot in your early twenties before marriage and family come in. That’s the best time! Relish it!!! You have a lot of choices, and it’s the time now to find yourself.
    love you!!

    Reply

  4. sharry
    May 20, 2008 @ 17:41:25

    hey – did you get the u.s job?

    Reply

  5. jessie
    May 20, 2008 @ 22:21:22

    HIELLEN

    Reply

  6. sharry
    May 21, 2008 @ 16:07:52

    ok – i’m a little disappointed for you…i was hoping we’d get to see you. and i’m trying not to come across as heartless, selfish, or overly excited knowing you’ll be there to look out for caitlin and attend her every need…but…woooo hoooooo!!!

    love you!

    Reply

  7. jessie
    May 21, 2008 @ 16:51:14

    ELLEHOWAREYOUDOING

    Reply

  8. dee
    May 23, 2008 @ 12:49:14

    You are so talented. Camp cousellor, media student, musician now fitness guru, you have many strings on your bow. Best of luck

    Reply

  9. jessie
    May 26, 2008 @ 01:12:06

    howareyoudoing
    ellen

    Reply

  10. jessie
    May 26, 2008 @ 21:49:16

    ellenhowhaveyoubeen
    talktooyousoon

    Reply

  11. Anonymous
    May 27, 2008 @ 18:43:12

    ellenhowsgoing
    talktooyosooon

    Reply

  12. Anonymous
    May 27, 2008 @ 18:44:27

    itsjessie
    notanonymous

    Reply

  13. jessie
    May 29, 2008 @ 21:48:00

    thisjessienotanonymoushave
    great daaay

    Reply

  14. jessie
    May 29, 2008 @ 21:48:28

    talktooyoousooon

    Reply

  15. jessie
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 23:54:53

    ellenhowsitgoing

    Reply

  16. jessie
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 02:33:34

    heyellen

    Reply

  17. jessie
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 23:26:35

    howareyoudoing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

