Foo Fightin, Jamming & Scatting

So this Anzac weekend was really a fruitful one for me and mostly focused on music. So Matty and I got a frantic call at the start of this year. It was a friend who called to let us know that the foo fighter tickets that we so desperately wanted (ever since a few years back when we sat in the car park listening to the concert for lack of tickets) were now on pre sale and if we got on the net and jumped through a thousand hoops for a couple of hours, we could get those tickets. So the big day came and we were right there. I cannot count the number of rock concerts I’ve been to, but this was right up there. and I made sure I was as close to the front as my strength would allow me (about 3 people from the front) with my best friend who is dainty and about 5 inches shorter than me. so the whole place was packed and needless to say that it hurt to breathe for the days following.

For those of you who don’t know me very well or haven’t picked up on my obsession with music, I am ridiculously in love with music. Some people choose alcohol and others choose crack but mine is music. I play the piano and I sing and I write music on and off.  So I got sick of procrastinating and on Saturday I went over to a uni (college) mate’s house who is amazing at guitar and we practiced cover songs we’d done before and songs that I’d written and he’d enhanced with his guitar part. But for the rest of the day we jammed, which means one of us would play anything, a bunch of chords, a melody, and then the other would improvise over the top. What eventuated was the forming of ideas which we then recorded to remember (very important when you have the memory of a goldfish). So now its my job to write the lyrics … Any suggestions on topics??????

And finally on saturday night I went out with a friend and his family to see this AMAZING jazz singer, Kurt Elling, sing with the symphony orchestra and world-famous jazz musicians. Can I just say that from the first minute of the concert I was at the front of my seat grinning. The timbre of his voice, like butter and his stage presence, suave, I was captivated by this type of old school jazz with the fullness of the string section. He also did some of the best scatting which I must admit made me laugh.

So I experienced a full musical spectrum this weekend which has inspired me to really go ahead with my writing. Here goes!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 05:18:09

    Go Elly I am really looking forward to hearing what you come up with. I was just telling Ollie on the weekend that I couldn’t wait for you to write some more songs 🙂
    You can write one about me if you like….theres some inspiration for ya!!

    Reply

  2. Kristie
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 09:12:57

    Ellen, looks like you had a great view for the Fooey’s concert. I’m sure it was a great concert. Look forward to hearing your songs. Maybe we should have a “Smylie family..So you think you can sing/dance/act” night

    Reply

  3. jessie
    Apr 28, 2008 @ 23:04:26

    hi ellen
    howareyodoing?
    westillhaveourdog
    itsreallymydogthough\
    hisnameismurphy
    justseemedtoofithisname
    itsirish
    lovejessie&murphy

    Reply

  4. sharry
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 16:13:24

    i went to a little river band concert with steve and some friends on saturday night – does that count as cool? did it ever count as cool? do you even know who little river band is?

    actually the opening act reminded me of you – she had the hair…played piano…and sang her own music. although she was a bit lounge-singerish..which is not you! i promise to buy ticket when you are famous and touring the u.s. – remember the little people!!!

    Reply

  5. rebeccaj
    May 01, 2008 @ 03:02:16

    That’s a great action shot of the Grohlster. Did you take it?
    I’m going to a Stereophonics concert on Monday night. But I wish I could have seen the Fooeys.
    I’m waiting to hear if my dream of interviewing Stereophonics will come true. The nice lady at FasterLouder.com.au said she will try and arrange an interview with them for me. I’m so excited yet so scared at the same time.
    I wrote a song recently, but it’s a churchy one. It’s based on the Mutual theme “Steadfast and Immovable” and I wrote it for the New Beginnings night because the girls all rebelled against singing another Janice Kapp Perry song. The girls all liked it so I’m thinking of putting it on Youtube to see if it will take off in the church universe.
    For song writing – the stream of consciousness technique is good. It doesn’t have to make sense, actually it is better if it doesn’t make sense cos then people can make what they want of it and it seems more poetic and profound.
    Keep up the creativity Ellen.

    Reply

  6. Sarie
    May 02, 2008 @ 19:16:32

    I share your love for music! I would love to hear things once you get the songs recorded or written down. Good luck!

    Reply

  7. jessie
    May 03, 2008 @ 21:34:10

    hiellen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

