So you think you can dance?

So I have wanted to take dance lessons for years. Despite the Soininen ‘inflexibility gene’ I have always loved to dance and had been saying for so long that “one unspecified day” I will get around to taking lessons. So I decided to be proactive last week and googled “dance lessons in the Adelaide region” I soon realised that most of the places required couples to join and seeing as I see no prospects for partner anytime soon I persevered in the solo dance classes. After much searching I found a hip hop class (no laughing please) and a break dancing class (ok get back on your chair). So I booked in for this Tuesday for the hip hop class which I’m pretty nervous but excited about. But the break dancing class was last Friday and it requires no bookings which means that most of the people there are probably regulars who have some skill in the sport (my only experience with it would be several days of YouTube self-taught lessons). So I suited up, having no idea what to wear to a break dancing class and after a battle in my mind of inadequacy I put on my sneakers and ran out the door to catch the bus to the class. Half way down the street the bus ran past and at that very moment the fight in my mind was won by the scaredy cat and I ran home. So now I have to wait till Tuesday where I have resolved that I WILL go to the class. Until then I will continue to watch “so you think you can dance” and think to myself that I could totally do that! … maybe…

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 18:28:14

    That’s so tight Ellen. I must admit that one of my secret dreams is to learn how to breakdance. If you take the classes, you can teach me when I come over 🙂 We can go to the clubs and hip hop together. Of course you will look cooler than me seeing as I can’t dance that well. lol.

    Reply

  2. Dee
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 11:19:34

    That’s so great that you’re not letting your disability hold you back from your dream. you go dawg. oops wrong show.

    Reply

  3. Ariana
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 00:22:14

    If you already knew how to dance you wouldn’t need to take a class right? I have much confidence in your ability to have a fabulous time at anything. Besides, have you ever seen the MTV show MADE. Sariah actually took a welding class this year at my encouragement. Yes, with all the shop-jocks and rednecks. She definitely felt out of her element, but her teacher was very impressed with her ability to learn quickly. You will have to post some picts and maybe even some video clips for those of us who are an ocean away. lots of love ariana

    Reply

  4. Rebeccaj
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 11:28:35

    Just keep on dreaming and working Elle Belle. I can just see you now doing a solo floor show at the YSA Convention Ball. But how will your hair stand up to all that spinning on your head?

    Reply

  5. Dinah Merrill
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 20:45:15

    Hey Ellen, you can do anything in this world! You are a Smylie-Soininen. Your grandma Leisa can sew anything, your Dad can draw anything and your mum, she can cook anything, so you come from a long line of “can do anything.” Just catch that bus, and smile and get out there and have fun….and just think of all the pictures and stories you will have to tell us about next blog session……..Love……….Auntie Di

    Reply

  6. jessie
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 23:58:45

    hiellen sorryi didntwritetoyouforcoupledats
    my nicesesgotmesick
    iam still little bitsick
    trying to getbetter

    thoughhavegreat
    daylovejessie

    Reply

  7. jessie
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 00:01:50

    justacold its not
    thatbad though

    Reply

  8. jessie
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 00:02:27

    imeantcoupledays

    Reply

  9. jessie
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 02:11:34

    hielllen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

